A blue chicken in Cherokee Park?

This piece was submitted by Louisville resident and former Metro Parks employee Dennis Sheridan, who had an interesting encounter with a bird in Cherokee Park this week.

The other evening (around 7) I was taking a walk through Cherokee Park and decided to cut through the wooded path that goes along Big Rock. To my surprise, I noticed a large bird with a blueish-gray hue. At first I thought this was some sort of mutant pigeon, but a closer look revealed the unmistakable silhouette of a chicken.

Sheridan's Zapruder-like capture of the Cherokee Blue Chicken.

My natural inclination was to get my phone out and capture a shot of the displaced (and seemingly exotic) fowl. In all my many walks through Cherokee, I have never encountered a hen (or rooster) – much less a grayish-blue one. Apparently though, chickens are scared of iPhones and she took off running.

I hastily followed the chicken along the ledge near Beargrass Creek, but even my agility was no match for the cunning of this bird. It was not my intention to frighten the creature; however, I was bent on documenting my encounter.  I chased the chicken through the park for several minutes. My gray (and slightly blueish) friend was very fast, but I managed to get to a point where I was at an elevated level and the chicken was a few feet below. I hid behind a tree and attempted to peak around to one side (in a non-threatening manner) in order to quickly snap the desired photo.

Unfortunately, its reflexes bested my own and she knew to flee just as I emerged. I rushed for the other side of the tree just in time to inspire a 180-degree turn from the hen, and we played this game of back and forth for a few minutes.

Eventually, I came to the realization that the chicken would not stand still long enough for me to take a proper picture. As a last-ditch effort, I once again appeared from behind the tree and the chicken took off running. I did what I could, but the blurry photo I was able to take, as you’ll see, recalls the vagueness of a Sasquatch or UFO encounter – but just look, you can see by its feet that it was both a chicken and a very fast one)

The poor bird could still be in that park. Chickens are social creatures and do not like being alone. Folks should be on the lookout for the hen as I’m sure she would appreciate being rescued.

You can follow Dennis on Twitter at: http://twitter.com/dennis_sheridan

One thought on “A blue chicken in Cherokee Park?

  1. Michael Squires July 2, 2011 / 5:26 pm

    Ya right like thats real i mean a ufo enconter big foot you got to be kidding me.

Leave a Reply

